Looking for Stonewall Jackson

IMG_4648

The Pea Ridge reenactment was a great place to relax and meet people.  As I hiked across the large fields I thought I would look for someone famous – maybe I would bump into General Stonewall Jackson… or maybe General Robert E. Lee.  Since it was a Civil War living history event, it seemed like a reasonable expectation.  I met Steve Bailey (above) and got his photo.  He was the organizer of the reenactment and certainly had the work of a General as he led the effort to make Pea Ridge a success.  Steve was a pleasure to talk to and he had a great beard.  But, he did not look like either General Jackson or General Lee.

IMG_4600

I continued my hike around the Pea Ridge site with heightened resolve in my quest to find a Civil War general.  Since it was cold I headed to a blazing fire where several gathered.  They made a spot for me by the fire and we all enjoyed the heat.  Eventually, all the soldiers left the fire (I do not think it had anything to do with my Civil War era smell) except for one.  Troy Massey (above), an Arkansas gentleman and a history buff, relaxed in a chair and continued to enjoy the crackling fire.  We shared stories, some were from the Civil War period and others were regarding family.  As it turns out, our ancestors both lived in the Cane Creek area of old Orange County in North Carolina back in the 1760s.  They were neighbors 250 years ago!  Our conversation continued and it was good.  But, alas, I still had not found either General Jackson or General Lee.

IMG_4646

My quest continued.  I soon bumped into some other distinguished Southern gentlemen.  I took their picture and exchanged a greeting.  I did not get their names but I enjoyed the moment.  As you can see, they have great beards!  But they were not one of the Generals from old.

I do not know how many miles I hiked at Pea Ridge… but it was a number bigger than 1 or 2 or 3 or 4.  I never did cross paths with one of the Generals.  But, I did cross paths with some great guys.

The weather may have been cold – but the fires felt good and the conversation was warm.  Life was good on the Arkansas-Missouri border.

Leave a Reply

